The Holiday Post

4 07 2009

Well heeeeeeere we go!

Today is INDEPENDENCE DAY. The day America finally declared it’s freedom from the Mother Land. And I wish you a happy one. Jared has been shipped off (as of yesterday) for training, and I don’t get to celebrate this holiday with anyone. But I can’t complain, my Independence Day is lonely so that my husband can defend the Independence Days of the future. I couldn’t be more proud of him, and any sacrifice is worth it when you’re doing God’s will. And we are.

The only other holiday I’ll really be addressing is Halloween (I might talk about my birthday later, but, alas, it’s not yet a recognized holiday). Jared and I have big plans for some rockin’ costumes. There are just a few things you need to know about why we chose what we did:

1) The Metal Gear Solid series are Jared’s favorite vidoe games of all time.

2) There is only ONE modest female character in the entire series.

3) The main character (“Snake”) is awesome. Beyond awesome. But there are two characters who beat him in awesomeness.

4) Duh. We’re being those two characters (one of which, yes, is that modest lady).

We started work early because the rest of our year is seriously booked. I keep thinking 2010 is happening in a few weeks because the rest of my year is so planned out, I feel as if I’ve already lived it. I’ve already got a lot of the pieces for my costume, but they’ll take a pretty significant amount of alterations to be finished…I don’t have a sewing machine, so the task is daunting lol. Thankfully, Jared’s is a matter of accumulating the proper accessories. He’s already got the base of the costume (Woodland Cammies [short for camoflage]). Here are some pictures to help you get an idea of how cool we’re gonna look:

Big Boss - Jared's costumeThe Boss - Kaila's costumeWe are so flipping cool. Here are some pictures of the boots I picked up on amazon.com:

Left Shoe - OuterThe BootsPretty much, they’re awesome. Yes, they’re a modern day name brand, but everyone will forgive me for not spending $140 on exact-match Doc Martens. Blegh. I’ve never owned shoes that expensive. And I really never plan on it. Anyway, good looking boots that I’ll actually wear after Halloween. And, yes, I’ll be switching the shoe laces out soon.

That’s pretty much what’s going on lately. NO! WAIT!!!

I totally forgot!

I’m heading to an art store this afternoon to pick up some canvas and some acrylic paints to start on what will eventually be Jared’s anniversary present (we’re still celebrating by the month!). I haven’t painted in a while, and Jared seems to be really impressed with paintings lately, so I thought I’d see if I could dig into an old talent for a while. We need some prettiness in our home too. We’re borrowing all the furniture right now, and nothing hangs on the walls. We’re ready to start making our home beautiful.

Well, that actually sums it up. I don’t think there’s anything really important to say about my birthday, exept for to mention that Jared will actually be in attendance :D. And I won’t have “teen” stapled on my age anymore!

Oh, and I guess people will be excited to know that I got a 31 on my ACT. Considering how long I was out of school and the amount of time I had to study, I’m actually really pleased with the results. Once those scores make it to BYU-Hawaii, I’ll just need to meet with my Bishop for Ecclesiastical Endorsement and send for my HS transcripts. This is totally exciting!

Love to everyone!

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 07 2009
AJ

Those are tight boots! Can’t wait to see you in October, and can’t wait to see your costume!!

5 07 2009
jaredandkailamcd

Thanks, dude…I thought they were pretty hardcore! I love DC lol.
I’m pretty freaking psyched for Oct, seriously. Can’t wait to see you again. You better have a ridiculously cool costume.

Leave a Reply

